Wringing the Most Out of Summer

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

Last weekend we got to check out a classic boat show on Boardman river – a true Chris Craft enthusiasts’ dream and my first official boat show.  But the real boating adventure happened last Sunday evening when we actually got to take a ride on the “pirate ship” I’ve been obsessively taking pictures of from the shoreline of my new Michigan stomping ground.

Tall Ship Manitou

Tall Ship Manitou

Our fabulous friends were gracious enough to babysit Baby J while Jim and I got in the first couples-only/kid-free time we’ve had since moving.  (Thanks again guys!)  🙂   In true date night fashion, I sported an LBD (that’s little black dress, guys), black flip flops (to look like I wasn’t trying too hard) and the trusty camera bag that may well be my new purse – all prepped for the romantic evening cruise ahead.  Two words:  inappropriate attire.

A few sharp crests and dips into our sail, I realized we were in for more West Bay action than anticipated.  Our exuberant crew confirmed – this was the most action they’d seen all season and they were thrilled for the departure from the typically less-exciting norm.  The crew’s enthusiasm was  infectious; the Short’s beer sampling, delectable.  Experiencing the moody waters of Lake Michigan up close in the Tall Ship Manitou was quite sublime.  🙂

In other recent events:

meteor shower gazing:  under thick blankets, staring up at the night sky from our friend’s driveway;  I think I saw 5 go by before finally falling victim to sleep under the quiet night sky.

local wine & cheese:  can’t believe we hadn’t done this yet!  of Michigan’s many vineyards, Black Star Farms goes down as our first wine tasting spot;  walked away with some Leelanau Cheese Raclette that lives up to it’s rave reviews.

wildly varying Fair excursions:  one – a sunny-day venture into Suttons Bay for lunch & local art; I walked away with a new necklace – hope you jewelry-making friends approve!  the other – a drenched trip to the Elk Rapids Harbor Days fair; we were soaked, but stoked about seizing the opportunity for some good ole’ fair food.

necklace

Harbor Days Elk Rapids

BSF Grapes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jackson is enjoying routine swing adventures, regular Spirit of Traverse City train rides and  ice cream treats – including a homemade, salted caramel concoction care of chef Heather.  His growth – cognitively & physically – seems astronomical lately.  But I am a biased, doting mother after all.  I am relishing this first summer here with my guys.  And soon we’ll be catching up with family & friends.  Life is good.   🙂

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Wringing the Most Out of Summer

  1. Theresa White says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY BABY GIRL IN MICHIGAN!!!! I MISS YOU TERRIBLY!!!! LOVE< MAMA

  2. Brianne says:

    I second Mel’s sentiments! I don’t know what it is about your posts that make me tear up each and every time – probably an equal mix of happiness and jealousy, plus a tinge of anticipation that we will eventually make it up there to experience this heaven of yours for ourselves. Miss you guys like crazy!

  3. Mel says:

    I think I tear up every time I read a post. Just thinking about you guys doing so much fun, great stuff and being so happy in your new spot. We love you guys and are so happy for you. Way to take charge of your destiny 🙂

  4. That cheese is divine and I am trying to think of an appropriate use for it beyond alone or with crackers (and wine for you guys). Also massively scheming on more ice cream combos!

Leave a Comment

