Jackson Calls it Miggins

jess says:

“relax – you’ll be here a while – this isn’t just a long vacation.”  i’ve been repeating that to myself for the past month and a half.  happy to report:  our budding new family routine pleases me.

some details on the house, as a few have inquired.  it’s pretty perfect for us.  century old Victorian; definitely rough around the edges, but with lots of charm.  it has (gasp!) a basement for my guitar-wielding husband, a guest room for visitors, a claw foot tub downstairs and the biggest bedroom i’ve ever had.  a couple in-house adjustments:  we have no dishwasher, no AC & we didn’t bother with cable (Hulu & NetFlix serving as stand-ins… till winter at least.)

My New DeskMulberry BabyHerbs & TomatosClinch Park

i’m trying my hand at an herb garden; mulberry trees grow in our yard; we’re directly across the street from the gym of the local Catholic high school – interesting during the school year, but nice playground benefits.  we can hear church bells, local stadium announcements & ice cream trucks plainly from our couch, all the windows open.  All told, I am one happy camper.  aside from missing you guys, of course.Refreshing

while I hold the food & beverage scene here in high regard, i promise it’s not the only thing we’ve been getting into.  most of our outings involve the beach, with the bulk of our time spent at Clinch Park, which sits on on Lake Michigan’s west bay, just up the road.  for the record, it really is like the beach –  you can see on forever – there are just more rocks.

head 20 minutes in any direction & you’re at another great spot, thus our regular trips to Torch Lake, Elk Rapids, Antrim Park and pretty much anywhere up M22Migginssome of our coolest recent events include a visit from Meme (Mom to me), a hot air balloon launch, a classic car show, the Cherry Festival & parade and some fantastic fireworks.  the TC Film Festival runs next week and we’ll be getting our own kayaks soon – thanks again, fellow Billianites, for that REI gift card!!

that’s last month’s latest and greatest, for the most part.  this town is feeling like such a fit!  i really can’t express how blessed i feel – i feel so lucky to have this change, this opportunity for betterment.  this blog will be my own personal experiment in self discipline so – i’ll have more for you soon.  i promise.

Tagged , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Jackson Calls it Miggins

  1. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

  2. John says:

    I sure miss you guys, but it sounds and looks like the place to be! I’m happy to hear things are going well, and I can’t wait to get up to see you in October!!

  3. Mel says:

    I say live everyday like it is vacation! Three years later and I’m still keeping a good pace. SO happy for you guys and I can’t wait to visit!

  4. Linda says:

    Love the pictures and especially Miggins!
    We sure miss you guys! I will be so glad to see you in August. Things will slow down after the boys leave on the 8th. It’s nice to have them, just keeps me very busy.

    love you all,

    Mom

  5. Loran says:

    Great pics, Jess! Glad you are enjoying the new digs. And I agree with Tara, claw foot tubs are the best!

  6. Tara says:

    Aw I love that he calls it Miggins. And I love that you guys have a claw foot tub. When I read that I thought “Oh my gosh no they don’t. I’ve always wanted one of those”. That is awesome. Love the pictures! And I miss you guys tremendously. I’m so happy that you guys are happy and loving it. It warms my heart. Hope to make it out there soon 🙂

Leave a Comment

