Deep Freeze Bubbles

On the coldest day of the recent Deep Freeze, and two no-school snow days beyond my son’s two-week holiday break, my sister sent me a link to a story about a little boy and his mom blowing bubbles in the freezing cold. The photos were breathtaking (if you didn’t click through, really – you should).

It took me about 45 minutes to convince Jackson that coming outside with me to blow bubbles would be more fun than playing Batman Lego, but eventually he caved. After the customary ninja-chopping of the bubbles, he calmed down enough to let a few live long enough to freeze (and let me take some pictures).

Our images were nothing close to Angela Kelly’s (on account of her stellar photography skills and our absence of sun), but it was the perfect way to find reprieve from cabin fever with my favorite little boy. :)

When the sun finally showed itself today during lunch, I jumped at the chance for another take (all by myself this time, me being a juvenile thirty-something and all). My, the difference some sunshine can make!

If you try this, use the liquid soap/Karo syrup/water mix mentioned in the article – it offers up better ice patterns than the store-bought bubbles we initially used.

That sun didn’t last too long, so I’m glad I got out while I could. Hopefully it’ll come back soon, as I have a pinhole camera project calling my name, thanks to the generosity of Greg Urbano and his recent Christmas giveaway (thanks again, Greg!) :) More to come on that.

Hope you’ve found some moments in the sun recently, too! If you happen to blow bubbles while you’re out there, send me a link – I’d love to see your pictures. :)

Tagged , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Deep Freeze Bubbles

  1. Heather tipped me off to yet another northerner trying to make the best of “ice cold” days (cousin to snow days from school) and sub-zero activities! My bubbles were not nearly as stunning as yours and Heather’s — it was a bit windy, too, so we had problems finding somewhere they didn’t immediately blow away or pop as they were blown into branches and such. We did have a good time throwing boiling water into the air, though!

    • Jess Clifton says:

      Always nice to meet another adventuring Northerner! And thanks for the compliment! We do some crazy stuff to ward off cabin fever don’t we? Haha :) Heading over to check out your blog now!

  2. […] see more? Hop over to Jess’ blog – we were doing the same thing at the same time […]

  3. lauramacky says:

    I love these! Nice work. :)

  4. Linda Clifton says:

    Wonderful idea!

  5. albertopr says:

    Oh beautiful sometimes I miss the snow before I get more nostalgic… one question can you mix some colors into the liquid soap I mean perhaps a little food coloring well I do not know if it works. Beautiful pictures!!!

    • Jess Clifton says:

      Thanks! :) You know – I bet if I bought some all natural dye it would work (great idea!). Learned the hard way that most food coloring won’t freeze all the way when we tried to make colored orbs last year (frozen water balloons w/ dye in them). :P Think I have my new project – thanks! ;)

  6. Heather says:

    I did this this morning, before the sun…and then again at lunch. So much better in light and way more fun than it ought to be :) Love your back-lit one!

  7. Greg Urbano says:

    I think that is such an awesome idea!

  8. Metzer, Joyce says:

    These are incredible Jess I had no idea that is what happened to bubbles when they froze. Tell Jackson thanks for educating me and tell him his mommy takes good pictures.

    • Jess Clifton says:

      Thanks, Joyce! :) It was fun, even if was too cold to linger longer than about 30 minutes at a time. I had no idea they would do that either! Glad my sister shared that article. :)

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

